Who We Are

Founded in 1999, the New Meadows Watershed Partnership (NMWP) is a coalition of citizens, nonprofit organizations, and municipal, state, and federal officials concerned with the health of the New Meadows River.  Our mission is to protect, improve and maintain the vitality of the ecological and economic resources of the New Meadows River and its watershed.

The NMWP’s work is guided by a steering committee comprised of representatives from the watershed’s five municipalities: Bath, Brunsiwck, Harpswell, Phippsburg, and West Bath.  We meet every two months to examine shared interests and concerns and to advance the work of the Partnership.

History

Pogy die-offImpetus for founding the NMWP came from two events.  The first was a massive fish die-off in 1991, caused by low oxygen levels due to over-enrichment of nutrients in the river (see picture, right).  The second was the proposed expansion of Brunswick’s Coastal Protection Zone to the town’s portion of the New Meadows watershed, which would limit septic systems and other sources of nutrient pollution.  In order to expand the Zone to the New Meadows, data on water quality in the River was needed -- and the NMWP was charged with gathering this data.

Major Achievements

The NMWP has assessed water quality in the watershed, worked to remediate shellfish harvesting areas, researched nonpoint source pollution sites, and conducted extensive public outreach.  A hallmark of our efforts was drafting the New Meadows Watershed Management Plan in 2004.  Developed with significant input from area stakeholders, the Plan describes a comprehensive approach to protecting the water quality of the New Meadows River.  It is complemented by a targeted Action Plan, updated in 2008.

The Partnership

Steering Committee

Curtis Bohlen, Director, Casco  Bay Estuary Partnership, cbohlen@usm.maine.edu

Matt Craig, Casco Bay Estuary Partnership, mcraig@usm.maine.edu - Treasurer

Robert Cummings, Shellfish Committee, Town of Phippsburg, drummore@gmail.com

Mike Doan, Friends of Casco Bay, mdoan@cascobay.org

Michael Feldman, Brunswick, mikefeldman@suscom-maine.net

Amy Fitzpatrick, Maine Department of Marine Resources, amy.fitzpatrick@maine.gov

Kurt Garascia, Brunswick, garasciak@hotmail.com

Diane Gould, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, gould.diane@epa.gov

Thomas Hoerth, City Arborist, City of Bath, thoerth@cityofbath.com

Donald Kale, Maine Department of Environmental Protection, donald.kale@maine.gov

Slade Moore, Maine State Planning Office, slade.moore@maine.gov

Paul Mateosian, West Bath Marine Resources Committee, pmateosian@cityofbath.com

Peter Milholland, Friends of Casco Bay, pmilholland@cascorbay.org

Heather True, Cumberland County Soil and Water Conservation District, htrue@cumberlandswcd.org

Carol Tukey, Town Planner, Town of Harpswell, ctukey@town.harpswell.me.us, Co-Chair

Steve Walker, Maine Department of Inland Fisheries, and Wildlife, steve.walker@maine.gov - Co-Chair

 

To get involved in the New Meadows Watershed Partnership, please contact us!

 

ABOUT US

 

MISSION

The mission of the New Meadows Watershed Partnership is to protect, improve and maintain the vitality of the ecological and economic resources of the New Meadows River and its watershed.

 

MEETINGS

The New Meadows Watershed Partnership’s steering committee meets on a bi-monthly basis.  Meetings are open to the public and are held at rotating locations throughout the watershed.  For information on the next meeting, please contact us.

 

GUIDING DOCUMENTS

New Meadows River Watershed Management Plan (2004): our comprehensive strategy for protecting the water quality of the New Meadows watershed

Action Plan (2008): detailed step-by-step guide for implementing the Watershed Management Plan

Strategic Plan (2002): outlines the mission, goals, objectives, and action plans of the NMWP

Bylaws